Top Shelf Aquatics

Just bought a BC14 - Need Advice

Dave83

I decided to downsize my 50g tank with 20g sump to a nano. I decided that a nano would be easier to manage and take up less space.

I ordered a BC14 with matching stand after reading about them on this forum. I have done some reading on this forum about how to set it up more efficiently. I have quite a bit of equipment from my larger tank that I may be able to use with this one.

I am not going to bother with the bio-balls and am going to replace them with live rock rubble. Other than that what other filter modifications will I need to get it started? I also have a 50watt tronic heater. Would it fit in the first chamber of the tank?

Any other tips would be greatly appreciated as I am new to the nano world.

Thanks,

Dave

Most people are putting heater and chemi-pure in chamber 1, filter floss on top of drip tray in chamber 2, over top of LR. I believe most are opening up the overflow from chamber 1 to 2 to get more flow. With the LR in chamber 2 you will fill up the back chambers and don't worry about the min/max water line on the outside of chamber 3.

Make sense?

coral_addict
I decided to downsize my 50g tank with 20g sump to a nano. I decided that a nano would be easier to manage and take up less space.

I ordered a BC14 with matching stand after reading about them on this forum. I have done some reading on this forum about how to set it up more efficiently. I have quite a bit of equipment from my larger tank that I may be able to use with this one.

I am not going to bother with the bio-balls and am going to replace them with live rock rubble. Other than that what other filter modifications will I need to get it started? I also have a 50watt tronic heater. Would it fit in the first chamber of the tank?

Any other tips would be greatly appreciated as I am new to the nano world.

Thanks,

Dave