Pod Your Reef

First Time Nano-er

82SC

well here I am a newbie nano and newbie saltwater aquarium-ist...

Well with my friend I set up this tank...it is a 6 gallon eclipse fitted with 2 13W AH lights

It is plumbed to a 10 gallon sump in the closet with calupera algae and a modest cleaning crew

I just ordered the 9 for 99 kit from indo-pacific to kick start the sand and to keep the nitrate and nitrite levels down

I have a maroon clown

a harlequin shrimp

a frogfish angler that has since turned white to match my substrate

a unidentified yellow coral...I think it is a lettuce

and a branching red sponge

The long tnetacle anenome killed a singapore anenome and the orange (colt) coral before dying...

I will let the tank stabalize and get the nitrate and nitrite levels down before adding more stuff...

my future plans is a small anenmoe for the clown and I will have transient blue linkas since the harlequin will be eating those up...

I may add tiny coral frags...but I am already over the limit of my system...but I guess greed beats rational...

I may add another light as well

enjoy

82SC-angler.jpg

82SC-tank.jpg

(Edited by 82SC at 11:23 pm on Feb. 13, 2002)

here are some pics of the setup...

2 13W lights (blue and white) with a reflector...

the bulkheads the drain tube and the inlet

the inlet is connected to a powerhead in the sump and a spray bar in the tank

the sump helps keep my tank clean and my water stable

82SC-lights.jpg

82SC-bulkheads.jpg

82SC-Sump.jpg

What do you feed your harlequin shrimp? Just curious, I have heard they will only eat one thing, but i am curious what you use. I would love to have one. Thanks,

Gaber

I fed it a chocolate chip star fish...it flips it over and eats it slowly for about a week / week and a half...

I heard any linka are good too...I plan to fed it blue linkas...the local shop told me I can have damaged ones for pretty cheap...and I guess ti will add color...until my harlequin gets to it...