Pod Your Reef

How many pounds of dry rock per gallon?

rev138

I'm starting a new tank (see second link in my sig) using dry coral rock which I will seed with a few small pieces of LR.

I know the general rule for LR is 1-2 pounds per gallon, but being so porous, LR is saturated with water, and much of that weight must be H2O.

I was wondering if there's a rule of thumb for how many pounds of dry rock to use per gallon?

Hey, one at a time guys! Don't all answer at once :P

I have no personal experience as I'v used LR with each of my 2 tanks... however I've been planning on getting some dry rock myself and reading up on it a bit, from what I'm reading I'd say it about doubles weight once wet.... for my 50g I'm going to order a box of 25lbs of dry rock and go from there.

I guess my 12lbs for my 20g should do then. A lot of the chunks are just large masses of feather duster tubes, so they're extremely lightweight and porous.

Good deal :)

hey bro i have a 10 gallon that i seeded with 2 lbs live rock and five pounds of dry rock. I was curious after i read this post so i picked it up and had a 5 lbs weight in my other hand and i figure the rock was around double the weight. so hopefully that gives some estimate. (If you trust my weighing skillz.)

can't really go by pounds per gallon.

some live rock is much heavier and dense than other. like for example tonga branch will fill up a tank with less poundage than fiji would. just get enough in there to give the desired look and still have some surface area to be benificial to the system.

xoxo

some live rock is much heavier and dense than other.

I thought this was the reason for the 1-2 pound guideline. 1 pound for light rocks, and 2 pounds for denser ones.

I guess my 12lbs for my 20g should do then. A lot of the chunks are just large masses of feather duster tubes, so they're extremely lightweight and porous.

So you settled on almost half of what you think the guidelines recommend?

:huh: