Innovative Marine Aquariums

Expereince Keeping Temperate Tanks?

Violent-d

I've been scouring the web until my nails bleed and finding very little information so I'm hoping someone may have some advice and if not I will probably just pioneer it.

I'm fairly new to keeping marine life, i've got a 10g aga which I will make a thread on in a few days, upgraded from my 5.5 back in September.

I live on the east coast of Canada, and no pun intended, our water is very cold. I'm an extremely avid diver, i actually work in the largest shop on the east coast, and I've been heavily considering experimenting with keeping temperate marine life via removing it myself during dive excursions.

typically farenheit (for all you americans) our water is 40 to mid 60s throughout the season. I totally cannot afford a chiller so I've got some old salt in my 5.5 which I've been letting run for a few days to get ambient warmth from the filter / lights so in another day or so I'll get an idea of what the running temp without any heater is. If its going to be too much I may consider setting a container in the back of the filter with ice in it that could replace once or twice a day to help chill the aquarium slightly. Also I've no idea what the light requirements are for temperate livestock but Im assuming it would not be nearly as demanding since most of our coraline and other sessile photosynthetic life seems to thrive in the rottenest conditions ever. So if the water temp is ok I may try some grabbing some liverock and a hermit and possibly a small snail and plopping them in next time out diving.

But anyways yeah if anyones got any experience with this sort of thing, please lend some advice. Its going to happen regardless (most likely) so I'd like to get my hands on some information before trying it, so any is welcome. thanks.