Cultivated Reef

My DIY kalk reactor

fade2black

Here's some pics (not the best either) of the kalk reactor I built. I laser cut all the pieces, it has an o-ring seal at the top, stainless steel screws, and john guest fittings. It is mixed with a magnetic stirrer every 3 hours for 2 minutes.

kalk_reactor_full.jpg

kalk_reactor_top.jpg

kalk_reactor_bottom.jpg

I have been running this on my 50 gal reef for about 6 months now and just did my first replenishment of kalk. I put about a pound in to begin with and had gone through about 90% of it. I dose approx 135ml/hr with a medical dosing pump 24/7 as makeup water. This is one of the best projects I have done and is very low maintenance. Enjoy!

Never been asked for one, but I guess I could. Usually people ask me for the flange set on top and then do the assembly work themselves. The flange is the hardest part and I have made several of those for 6" as well as 4.5" acrylic tubing. There really is nothing to these kalk reactors outside of the flange for the top. Everything else is pretty straight forward. This one is 18" tall and 6" in diameter. Holds roughly 2 gallons of effluent. You could use the same flange set and tubing for a calcium reactor as well.

could you explain in more detail how it works in regards to kalk reactors in general...does it just mix kalk and top off your tank via a float switch and a pump? also how much does one of those medical dosing pumps cost? have a picture?

thanks

billpa