inTank Media Baskets

powersweep

nano man can

I've heard that they tend to jam up and that the nylon gears in them often end up getting stripped. I've read that on this board as well as have heard that from the owner of my LFS.

Unfortunately I have no first hand experience to relay to you.

the idea behind it is great but they only come with suction cup mounts which fail everytime and they are kinda noisy and sometimes get jammed so imo they suck poop i have two i couldn't even sell em to any body unless i gave em away

trust me on this don't buy a powerhead that doesn't come with a clip that mounts to the top of the tank

I've had three running for about a year and a half. If you clean them every few months, they run fine. If you don't, they gum up and jam. Funny how geared systems will do that.

Ratty

Ratty's Reef

I have one and it worked great, for the first week I had it! If I don't take it out religiously, almost daily, it will stop "sweeping." Even a thorough cleaning doesn't guarantee to make it work. It'll sweep for a half day or so, then stop. I'll stick my hand in the tank, give it a bump and sometimes it will start sweeping, sometimes not...Another more important point, they don't have ANY power whatsoever compared to my other ph. My other ph is 1/3 the size and puts out 5x more flow!

Do not make the mistake of getting one. They are practically useless!

JM .02... hth

Sounds like you got a really crappy one. I haven't had problems of this kind with mine. Thing is, people whine louder than they praise, always. You don't see people posting threads about how wonderful their Rio or Maxi-Jet is. People usually only post when they're grumpy about things. Like those Rios that occasionally burn out and boil a tank, or the Maxi-Jet that shorts and electrocutes fish.