Cultivated Reef

check out my custom eclipse 12

wfrancis76

Hey. This is my first post. I decided to set up a nano reef a few months ago. I've had fresh tanks for many years. I've gotten bored with them and only have a couple of 5 gallons for the kitchen and my office. Anyway, I've got a friend who is a fish freak and he's been walking me through the process of setting up a tank. I've also been using this site alot along with MAAST.org.

So Here's what i've got so far.

Eclipse 12

Stock filtration

Rio 200 PH

Stealth 50 Watt heater

96 Watt power quad retro

home made moon lights (6 - 2600 mcd - 468nm - leds)

18 lbs of live rock

12 lbs of live sand

The tanks been going for about a 10 days and already the nitrites and amonia have dropped to zero. there is small amount of nitrate.

I've been having an absolute blast customizing hood. My wife thinks i'm nuts.

I tried to take some pics. I'm not very good at it. but i'll try to attach them. Tell me what you think.

post-17-1109392359.jpg

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was also wondering when I can put in the "clean up" crew. I'm starting to get algae and there is alot of material on the LR that looks dead. Any help would be appreciated.

> was also wondering when I can put in the "clean up" crew. I'm starting to get algae and there is alot of material on the LR that looks dead. Any help would be appreciated.<

That depends what your specs are in term of long the cycle has gone. When things are at zero then adding a cleaning crew or other they will likely die and add to your problems.

And did you make your own splash guard? I have a freshwater 12 eclipse and am planning to upgrade the lights in it but I've a bit puzzled by how to put down a spash guard for the new lights.

Steve