Top Shelf Aquatics

How can you confirm that your tank has cycled?

GTO NEMESIS

Are there any definitive signs/tests to see if a tank has cycled after initial set up?

I keep reading posts about the 'tank blooming' during cycling, waiting for Nitrate to drop ect but I have not experienced any of these things... Should I be worried?

The tank was set up with around 14 Kg of Live rock (now over 15 Kgs), Natures Ocean Reef Sand (10 LBS) & Nature's Ocean Nutri-SeaWater.

I am 4-5 weeks in and the perameters remain pretty constant with the largest variance being:

No2 from 0 PPM to 0.25 PPM then back to 0 PPM

N03 from 0 PPM to 0.5 PPM then back to 0 PPM

Is my tank still waiting to cycle or has it done it and I did not notice?

Any advice (even if it is super obvious) is welcome! I am still new to the Marine side of things.

Thanks

Mark

Are there any definitive signs/tests to see if a tank has cycled after initial set up?

I keep reading posts about the 'tank blooming' during cycling, waiting for Nitrate to drop ect but I have not experienced any of these things... Should I be worried?

The tank was set up with around 14 Kg of Live rock (now over 15 Kgs), Natures Ocean Reef Sand (10 LBS) & Nature's Ocean Nutri-SeaWater.

I am 4-5 weeks in and the perameters remain pretty constant with the largest variance being:

No2 from 0 PPM to 0.25 PPM then back to 0 PPM

N03 from 0 PPM to 0.5 PPM then back to 0 PPM

Is my tank still waiting to cycle or has it done it and I did not notice?

Any advice (even if it is super obvious) is welcome! I am still new to the Marine side of things.

Thanks

Mark

if you already have shrimp and they are still alive, you are probably good :P

You should probably start making your own water tho...