Coral Vue Hydros

Lani's Clownfish Breeding Thread

Lalani

So I don't junk up Mr. Pickle's lounge thread, I'll start my own journal here. I bought a couple of spawning pairs of clownfish and am going to try my hand at raising the babies. :)

I've got two of the clowns now, a pair of wild caught onyx, and today they spawned for me for the first time. By my count there are over 700 eggs! I'm going to set up a 10gal tank, half filled with water from the parent tank with a heater and air stone. When the eggs look near to hatching I'll move the pot over to that tank and let the airstone keep them oxygenated until they hatch. I've got rotifer cultures going and all of the equipment available, I just need to set it up (once I get over this cold, bleh). I don't expect tremendous success since this is my first try, but we'll see!

IMG_4597.jpg

IMG_4596.jpg

Each color represents 100 eggs:

IMG_4596a.jpg

• Replies 550
  • Created
  • Last Reply

beautiful clowns! i love breeding threads. more the merrier. i'm gonna start one once mine start laying.

what a big clutch, is their first lay? my OCC pair have laid about 1000 before i bought them from their owner.

my Onyx are similar to yours as my female is WC, but my male is a Rods.

cant eait till the hatch. good luck.

Looks Great! I'll be keeping track of this journey

Thanks. :)

Where do they lay(?) their eggs? I have 2 paired clowns and I am wondering if they will spawn?

They laid their eggs on the inside wall of a terracotta pot. Breeders often use pots or clay tiles for the spawning locations.

Whether or not your clowns will spawn depend on a lot of things. Age/size, tank conditions, compatibility all come into play, but even if all of the conditions are met they may or may not spawn. If you're interested in breeding clowns, I highly recommend buying Joyce D. Wilkerson's Clownfishes book. Lots of great info there. :)