Top Shelf Aquatics

Custom 50g DIY Rimless Cube

Justice

Let me start by saying I am still new to the hobby only having my BC14 for six months, but I got the itch like most do to start a larger tank. After tons of thread browsing and researching I decided a shallow rimless cube was what I wanted. Again after much research I decided I would try to build as much of the project as I could to save money. This was a huge decision for me because frankly I suck at building things, lol. It all is/was a little overwhelming and I am still trying my best to research and gain more information on things that still confuse me. Anyway, lets get to some pictures!

Here is a shot of some of the glass for the tank. Dims are 36x24x13 with three sides in Starphire glass.

glass.jpg

I decided to build my own 20g sump even though it went against my whole saving money philosophy as it cost more for the glass than it would have to go buy a 20g tank. Buuuut I wanted to have some experience actually putting it together from scratch so when I did the main tank it wouldn't my first time.

Items used to build the sump. Dow corning 732 clear silicone, Dow corning 1200 primer (for the silicone), duct tape, caulk gun, respirator, and some acetate. Had safety glasses and rubber gloves on the other side of the table.

Stuff.jpg

All done! I let it cure for a week and then did a leak test and no leaks!! I was surprised, lol.

Together.jpg

Now onto the stand! Dun dun dunnnn. I am in no way close to being a carpenter and suck with tools so this was what I was least looking forward to. In the end it turned out decent, but in no way is it perfect. It has many flaws on it, but it will do it's job of supporting the tank.

Progressive pics:

b45vb.jpg

34343t.jpg

2010-04-30182654.jpg

Stand3.jpg

The doors are done, I just have to put them on.

Random stuff for the build.

Stuffz23.jpg