Top Shelf Aquatics

New touch screen controller with 4 x 48volt DIY PCB LED driver.

sialkoti

LED technology is constantly improving so are the skills and ideas from LED DIY enthusiastic. I have looked in to LED lighting systems to lit my reef tank quite a while ago, in fact I got in to the hobby due to my interest in this technology. There are several reasons to choose LED technology over various other forms of lighting systems such as Metal Halide, T8, T5, latest plasma lighting units etc. I will not be addressing such reasons but would love to discuss points as this thread develops.

LED controller, driver and LEDs themselves are only for the trail purpose to see how they will behave as and when certain commands are given by the user. I am not interested to see any PAR readings since this trial version will not be used over any tank and only cheap LEDs have been used.

I have no such experience on the hardware side of this DIY project but have constantly improvised ideas towards this newly designed LED driver and controller unit.

This is by NO mean a DIY thread but to gather some valuable information to further enhance my future projects. Future projects will be based on XP-G and XP-E LED format until something better comes along ;)

Any comments are more than welcome and as this would hopefully help all of us.

LCD Touch Screen :- Cheap from eBay

This touch screen was only a cheap a quick option to go for but once I am happy with all settings, I may change it to a colour touch screen panel.

macroandLEDDIY041.jpg

Backside

macroandLEDDIY043.jpg

Daughter board which will fit to the touch screen panel and custom made to suit my needs for the current project. Up to 32 driver boards per controller - i.e. in theory you can control 32 lots of drivers on the serial 'bus'.

macroandLEDDIY028.jpg

Another shot

macroandLEDDIY025.jpg

Bare PCB board before any hardware installed

The driver itself

macroandLEDDIY029.jpg

Power supply up to 48V DC.