Cultivated Reef

New Solana Owner Question

jonc

Everyone,

I just took delivery of my new Solana 34 :) I also purchased the loved/hated "disco ball" but I really like the HQI for my future corals. I am doing my background research before starting the cycle process. I am new to saltwater and would like to do it right. I also have a JBJ nano 12DX on the way I will be setting up as a small quarantine zone for future purchases and a place to grow some frags to put in my Solana.

I am going to setup the 34 as a reef tank with mostly soft coral and anemones. I like the inverts and will have a few fish but not an overload. If I am lucky I would like a clam also.

Here is my question. I know it is a little opinionated. Should I use the "bioballs" that came with the system. I know in the JBJ instructions it says to remove them for a "reef tank" I understand that they are good for some fish only situations. I am afraid I would not wash them correctly as some folks have suggested so I am thinking about not using them.

If I do this, how should I set up the middle chamber? Just leave the carbon pack on the bottom? Should I place some LR back there?

I am interested in the idea of a Refuge but I am worried it is too complicated for a beginner and I am afraid it would clog my filter system. My LFS suggested it would complicate the Solana and would not be needed if I did not add too many fish.

Since I am a rookie I am sure I have missed many key things but if anyone has suggestions I will gladly listen.

This seems like a great group and I already have learned a lot from the thread. I hope one day i can give back some after I get experience. I will post some pics once I finish my DIY stand and get it cycling.

Thanks

Jonc

No bioballs, get some cheato for the middle chamber. You can put some bagged chemi-pure and floss on the top plate of the middle chamber. I ditched the sponges too.