ReefCleaners.org

DIY cassette case surface skimmer

evanj

Step 1:

:ninja: Steal a cassette tape case from your parents or if you can't find one, skip to step # 5 :ninja:

Step 2:

Make sure the case you took has a square profile and not a slanted one. Some cases will be a full square - I chose this smaller one because it's being used for a NC6. Should look like the one below:

PC040003.JPG

Step 3:

Take a fine tooth hand saw, jig saw, dremel or any other type of plastic cutting device and take off excess tabs. Final product:

PC040006.JPG

Step 4:

Place in tank, flow of water will hold it in place except when you unplug pump. Raise and lower to find ideal flow rate. Additional options include cutting slots or bulding a fish preventer...

PC040009.JPG

Step 5:

Wait for your custom fit surface skimmer to arrive because the homegrown job looks tacky, lol J/K.

forgive me for being a noob here, but what benefit is this?

:unsure: a noob with 2,197 posts?!

Removes the film from the surface of water - to be collected by my media basket's floss and (someday) DIY protein skimmer.

a noob regarding OG DIY i guess lol. so on a BC29 youd put that in front of the grill with filter floss inside it?

I guess the reason I said "old school" is because it was an idea I robbed from some thread I found dated 5+ years ago.

Your BC29 looks amazing, I can't tell what the intake looks like, but I would assume so - I don't know about the floss in the "overflow", try it in the chamber.

a noob regarding OG DIY i guess lol. so on a BC29 youd put that in front of the grill with filter floss inside it?

Not inside it, the filter floss would go in the first chamber, so scum from the surface of the water gets picked up instead of just plain ol water. The scum flows over it into the first chamber and is grabbed by the floss.

HeyLookItsCaps

ya i already have a fuge and floss back there, im just trying to figure out the justification for doing this mod haha.

i see now.