Pod Your Reef

QueenoftheReefs Red Sea Max

QueenOfTheReef

QueenOfTheReef

Hello All! I'm relatively new to this site and just wanted to take a minute to introduce myself & my reef. I've been reefing for a little over two years. My starter tank, and the one that I maintained up until 1 week ago, was a 37 gallon tall. However, in anticipation of a move from Iowa to Chicago, I purchased a Red Sea Max. This thread will chronicle my adventure in moving an established reef over 200 miles, and hopefully show the reef as it evolves, as there are many corals out there that I would still like to obtain. :) Enjoy, and PLEASE feel free to offer feedback. I'm always looking to learn.

To start things off, here are some pictures of my system before the move.

php2hKAovPM.jpg

phpakR9ojPM.jpg

And these are some pictures of my new Red Sea Max 130D, before placing any corals.

phpRppMUnPM.jpg

Here's a shot of the substrate and the aragocrete background.

phpoQIj8LPM.jpg

And here's the max right after adding water. A bit clowdy I think. :)

Welcome to the RSM family! And this is a good start, can't wait to see how it evolves considering your other tank!

QueenOfTheReef
Welcome to the RSM family! And this is a good start, can't wait to see how it evolves considering your other tank!

Thanks! I've actually transferred all of my corals into the RSM now. I was able to set it up and let it run for about three weeks first, then I took the plunge. My levels still aren't great by any means, but the corals seem to be doing okay. I'll post some pics soon. :D

QueenOfTheReef

Yep...I was going for a fairly deep sand bed. Right now as far as fish go I only have a purple firefish and a yellow watchman. But my next additions will hopefully be a bluespot jaw fish and a yashia with a pistol. I wanted lots of sand for those guys to burrow.

Thanks for adding me to the list! :P

wow that is a lot of sand in the one pic! Good start :welcome:

You are added on the RSM index

nkUnleashed