ReefCleaners.org

My New 5g Tank

Pea

2zdr9za.jpg

This is how my new 5.5 gallon tank currently looks (although I've since given the front of the tank a much needed wipe down!). I'm going away for a couple of weeks (back home from University) in a few days so I'm taking things very slowly. In fact, this might just be the slowest developing tank on the forum! I'm new to keeping marine fish after about 8 years of keeping freshwater fish. I'm still uncertain about whether I want to run this as a saltwater tank but I would really like to. So I'm going to be slowly purchasing the hardware to make it a saltwater tank until I'm sure I'm not going to just take the easy option and just set up a freshwater tank.

Currently I have a filter system installed in the hood. It was an undergravel filter that I've adapted. Its got a variety of store bought filter media in it at the moment, but I could seal up the gaps in the main trough and modify it further, possibly with some live rock and things instead.

I'm yet to buy a heater, the LFS I've found locally isn't ideal but I can get the every day stuff I need. But I'd rather go back to my more trusted dealer to pick a heater out from a larger range. I'm looking for a 25W heater at the moment.

The lighting is inbuilt in the hood, but I've just been playing round with a screw driver and browsing the internet and I could quite easily replace the 8W bulb with a 14W hagen aqua-glo one which I'm definitely considering. Again I'll visit my old LFS over the next fortnight to get it.

I'm planning on getting a powerhead for either the back right or back left corner. I'm not certain how powerful it should be though.

Also, I need a few things like a refractometer and some buckets

As for stock, I'm not completely sure what I want to get! I love the look of pom poms, sexy shrimps and I'll probably get a goby of some sort but it really depends on what I can find thats decent quality and works with my tank.