Innovative Marine Aquariums

Puffers

GiantBen

I was reading Ingreen's fish guide to see if a coral beauty cold go in my BC29, and saw mention of a Blue Spotted Puffer in the 30Gal tank list. This thing looks sweet. Also the bennett's toby looks awesome also.

Wondering is anyone has kept either of these, particularly in a BC29? How did it go? Did you keep it with any inverts / other fish?

Thanks.

Not only do they look awesome, they are awesome!! Well I only have a dwarf puffer, but he's the cutest little guy. My next tank is going to be a FOWLR with a puffer definitely. With my dwarf, he's accepted everything in the tank, except snails, I put them in as food, but he leaves them alone for the most part even.

From what I've read, it's pretty hit or miss with every puffer though. Check out the puffer forum, there is a ton of stuff on there.

i'm not an expert by any means but don't puffers eat coral? don't know if you have, or plan to have coral but make sure they're reef safe if you want/have coral.

I was reading Ingreen's fish guide to see if a coral beauty cold go in my BC29, and saw mention of a Blue Spotted Puffer in the 30Gal tank list. This thing looks sweet. Also the bennett's toby looks awesome also.

Wondering is anyone has kept either of these, particularly in a BC29? How did it go? Did you keep it with any inverts / other fish?

Thanks.

You won't find many people with experience with puffers in reef tanks. This is just one of those areas that everybody accepts that they aren't reef safe without ever actually seeing any evidence to support it.

I'd say go for it, it's not like they're difficult to catch if it ends up snacking on your corals. I may try one in my new project too.