Cultivated Reef

Becact's Biocube 14 Reef

becact

Hi!

I am new to this hobby, and loving it! I am learning tons of new info every day thanks to this forum, so wanted to show off what I've done so far and keep a photo log that I can update whenever I get some new additions to the tank.

I started with the Biocube 14, a popular choice. I have upgraded it with a Maxi-Jet 900 return pump, a Koralia Nano, a 50 watt Stealth heater, and a 70 watt Sunpod metal halide. I run a bag of carbon in the bottom of the 2nd chamber, stuffed up against the vent into the 3rd chamber where the pump is, and on top of the carbon I run chaeto, lit by a 10 watt underwater pond light running opposite my main lights.

I change about 2 gallons of water weekly, and use Instant Ocean as my salt. My parameters at the moment are:

Temp: ~79F

Salinity: 1.025

pH: 8.2

Ammonia: 0

Nitrite: 0

Nitrate: 0

Phosphate: 0

KH: 9-10

Calcium: 400

I purchased my live rock already cured, and was given water from the established tanks at my LFS. This helped to drastically reduce or eliminate my initial cycle. I had some brown diatoms for about a week, but seem to be past them for the most part.

So let's get on with the log!

2/07/2009: First got my tank, water, rock, and sand. The water is a little cloudy here, I was anxious to take some pics :)

Firstnight1.jpg

Firstnight3.jpg

2/11/2009: Got my clean up crew; 5 margaritas, 4 hermits, and a cleaner shrimp.

tank1wk2.jpg

tank1wk.jpg

2/14/2009: Added my first frags. 3 zoa colonies and 2 ricordia floridas.

Feb1409-2.jpg

Feb1409-1.jpg

Feb1509-3.jpg

Feb1509-2.jpg

Feb1509-1.jpg

Under actinics:

Feb1509-5.jpg

2/23/2009: Added an acan colony, an encrusting goniporia (I think? the light blue one), a single zoa head, and a shroom. Also I got a new stand for it and moved it to the living room.

Feb2309-3.jpg

Feb2309-5.jpg

Feb2309-2.jpg

Feb2309-4.jpg

Feb2309-1.jpg