Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

AgetupKid's Custom Shallow 8 Gallon

agetupkiddan

Custom Shallow Tank

This has been a wealth of knowledge for me. I started with a 2.5 Gallon tank, moved up to a SAIO 5.5 Gallon and after learning and reading, and learning some more, finally ventured into making my own glass, shallow tank. Here are the specs.

Dimensions

25" L x 10" W x 8" H

Equipment

Visi-Therm 25w Heater (Changing to a 50w)

Hydor Koralia Nano

Rio 90 Powerhead (Might change to another nano)

Lighting

Sunlight Supply Ready Fit 2x 24 Retro kit

Aqua-Science Bulbs

1x Special (15,000K)

1x Blue (25,000K)

My goals for this tank are to keep it very simple. I originally was going to build this tank, then in about a year, build one with identical dimensions, and create a Display/Fuge Design... We will see.

Tank Build

Many thanks to everyone who has done a tank build/thread... I studied EVERY SINGLE ONE.

I am going to try and add some tips i found useful.

Siliconing Glass

TIPS

- Tape out everything that won't be siliconed. (Keeps glass from getting fingerprinty or silicon-y)

- I bought my glass with the bottom pane 1/4 inch smaller (so the sides surround it). This was according

to a cut list from GARF (www.garf.org).

- Not sure if they suggest this for stability, but with a shallow tank i doubt its an issue.

- Since you "should" silicone in between the seams, you WILL see some smudgy silicone through the

sides (in between the bottom pane and the side pane) If you do the dimensions the other way, I

imagine you will NOT see this.

- Having someone to help you hold things as you tape (to hold the glass together after siliconing) is GOOD!

- Let the tank sit for at LEAST 24 hours to let the silicone set. I waited 48 hours, because after all, I did so

much planning before hand, what's another day?

PICS

post-18918-1232567331_thumb.jpg

Supplies. (Green Tape, Razor Blades, GE Silicone)

post-18918-1232567404_thumb.jpg