ReefCleaners.org

New to hobby - help me get my tank clean!

SAC83

I am new to the hobby and I setup my BC 29 two nights ago. I washed my crushed coral and added water to start cycling. The water cloudiness is gone, however there the tank is full of small particulate matter. At first I thought it was microbubbles but when I unplug the pump and let the water flow stop everything pools to the top of the tank and its just really fine dirt or dust. I've cleaned the stock filter, and also cut a strip of filter material and placed in chamber one with the stock filter. Any suggestions? should i do a water change?

+1 No crushed coral. You want aragonite sand. CC looks like aquarium gravel, and it traps fish poo in the large spaces in between the pebbles. Not good.

As for the cloudy... Keep up the filter sock and the floss. Change them often. The cloudiness will go away.

dsoz

+1 No crushed coral. You want aragonite sand. CC looks like aquarium gravel, and it traps fish poo in the large spaces in between the pebbles. Not good.

As for the cloudy... Keep up the filter sock and the floss. Change them often. The cloudiness will go away.

dsoz

thanks for the tips, I'm disappointed I purchased crushed coral on the LFS recommendation.