Innovative Marine Aquariums

Need advice - cycling my new 12g tank

doctorhannibal

doctorhannibal

I'm just a newbie in nano-reefkeeping but I already have 10yrs on FW tank. Reading this forum encouraged me to try reefkeeping, aside from the magical beauty of having a corals & SW colorful fishes in my room, I think SW is more challenging than FW.

A month ago before I started building my SW tank, I've read the topics in this forum and I've learned alot but I think I will learn more by experiencing it and in getting advice from pro-reefers. Since this is only my 1st time, I decided to go for a nano tank.. because of the low cost maintenance. I'll switch to a bigger tank someday If I succeeded on this nano.

Specs of my tank..

> 12gal bow type acry tank

> 350lph overhead / only floss filter for now.

> 400lph pump for water movement

> heater

> floating hydrometer w/ thermometer.

> 40W CFL

I just started my tank 3days ago, the salinity & temperature is fine. I put up 4kgs of LR & pure LS (aragonite).

My Questions Are :

1) What else do I need to put into my tank?

2) Should I remove the hitchhikers from the LR? They came out from the Rock holes yesterday.. 3small crabs, small cerith snails, 2 big turbo snails & couple of other tiny snails (I dont know thier names yet). I'm just wondering that they might disturb the cycle or I just leave them alone?

3) I know pods & other tiny organism are beneficial to the tank esp during cycle. But they are sucked on my overhead pump and trapped in the floss filter, I saw few dead pods in there. Should I remove the floss filter? What is a better substitute filter to purify the water or just to make the water crystal clear?

4) Usually, how long it will take for a tank to finish nitrogen cycle? Considering my 4kgs LR & Aragonite. I'm so excited to put something in there but I've learned here in forum that patience is the key to success.

5) Putting Zoas during the cycle is safe? or after the cycle?