Top Shelf Aquatics

Brennan's Aquapod 24

BrennanAP24

Hey Guys just got my new Aquapod 24 gal on tuesday, im pretty excited about it. This is my first saltwater tank so right now I am a total newbie. I have been reading a lot of peoples threads on here and have already learned a ton. This seems like a great site, I will be updating this thread as my tank progresses.

So heres what I have so far.

post-32644-1196547751_thumb.jpg post-32644-1196548139_thumb.jpg

• Replies 94
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I Added the water and salt on Wednesday and put in my Eheim Jager 100w heater. On Thursday I went to the LFS and bought 20lbs of Fiji LR. I added the sand and rock that night. My tank was extremely couldy after adding the sand to the point where I couldn't even see the rock I was putting in. Probably should of used a better method of putting it in, oh well. So Friday morning when most of it has settled I rearranged my rock. Took me several trys to get something I liked, still not sure about it tho might change it later.Heres what it looks like.

post-32644-1196548969_thumb.jpg

post-32644-1196549266_thumb.jpg

Side View

So Im starting to see signs of life in my tank, like litte feather dusters (I think) but there is something growing on one of my rocks. Not sure what it is or if I should remove it? Like I said im a newb at this, can someone identify this.

Couple of pics, its the yellow looking thing

post-32644-1196549521_thumb.jpg post-32644-1196561961_thumb.jpg

Sweet Start!

My biggest recommendation....take it SLOW. You sometimes have to fight the urge to buy stuff and add it too the tank too quickly. I waited off many months before I even considered any fish, but I did get tons of zoo's, softies, etc. You will also experience algae blooms, first brown, than either red, green, or a mix of both. No need to fear, they are common and pretty much unavoidable. Your tank will clear through them.