Pod Your Reef

5g ADA Rimless - 24 Months in

dapellegrini

Hello Everyone.

Longtime FW hobbyist - first time Reefer... I originally bought this tank to upgrade my 3g FW nano, but when I found I would need to buy a new light, I decided this would be my foray into SW Reef. I know a 5g is not the ideal size for a beginner, but I have been keeping FW tanks for almost 20 years, and recently got into the high end of th FW hobby. Here are my current tanks:

DSC06719.JPG

IMG_3292.JPG

DSC02300.JPG

I do 75% weekly water changes on all my FW tanks, so doing frequent and large water changes for this little thing should be no sweat. I have purchased 2 tiny Tunze powerheads, a digital thermometer and a 70w HQI HM pendant for this setup. The idea is sleek, modern, and minimalist.

So here is what I have so far:

I went out and bought a $50 side table from Target:

DSC07464.JPG

Measured everything out and drilled a couple of holes - one for the light pole and one for the electrical wires:

DSC07446.JPG

Seems that this little thing is made out of a cousin of cardboard and hollow in the middle (I guess they don't make furniture like they used to). I was concerned that with the weight of the tank, these holes may have compromised this little table's ability to hold. In the doubt, I just cut some pieces of PVC and glued them in as reinforcement around where the tank would be.

DSC07441.JPG

DSC07447.JPG

I also used a piece of PVC for the pole hole.

DSC07449.JPG

Next, I bent a 3/4" EMT pipe and cut to length. Drilled holes and sprayed with a black Lacquer and mounted against an extra piece of pine underneath the desk:

DSC07453.JPG

The hanging kit wires were cut to a closer size (still awaiting final trim) and the light was hung. I used velcro straps to hod the wire against the backside of the pole (out of sight):

DSC07454.JPG

Pushed a rubber cap onto the end of the EMT and the pole was complete:

DSC07456.JPG