Top Shelf Aquatics

Tudizzle's BC29

TUDIZZLE

Well here we go, finally taking the time to put some of this stuff down.

Finally got the wife to sign off and even get excited about setting up a Reef Tank. I was selling here on a 12g Nano DX just so it would not seem like alot of money to get started. I bought the tank and stand and brought it home. When the wife saw it she said "No Way!" Worried she had already lost interest I began to think up all the great excuses why to keep it, when she blurted out "that's not a tank, I was expecting something a little bigger?" Knowing when I am ahead I loaded it back up and went to the LFS only to return with the BC29!

Now I have some experience in the past with FW and SW FOWLR's but it has easliy been at least 15yrs and as we know alot has changed since then.

I started my BC29 in the middle of July (sorry dates are not exact, so many dead brain cells! j/k) with 22lbs of LR cured(no really) and 20 lbs of LS. I plugged her in a let it cycle for a few weeks, going pretty quick thru all the stages of algea.

My research had all been around mod'ing a Nano DX so I took the cycle time to figure out exactly what I want to do to the tank. (All mods are up and running)

MODS

Nanotuners 4.36 lights with fan upgrade

CHAMBER 1

removed false bottom and put 2lbs LR

50w Heater

purigen

chemi-pure elite

filter mod

widened gap into chamber 2

CHAMBER 2

Converted into a Fuge

false floor, bio balls and drip tray removed

5lbs LR

Cheato

calpura (sp?)

azoo palm light (5w 6500k) with goose neck removed and mounted flat against outside back w/ velcro

CHAMBER 3

rio 6HF

IN-TANK EQUIP

koralia 1

lockline y-split

After about 2-3 weeks I added a CUC consiting of:

3 Zebra snails

1 Turbo snail(golf ball size)

2 Astrea snails

3 Nassarius snails

2 blue legged hermits

3 scarlett hermits

I also thru a rock in with about 7 red mushrooms