ReefCleaners.org

What should I add next?

Liane

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to the whole marine fish thing. I've kept fresh tanks for years, but am now learning about saltwater tanks. My husband has a 75 gallon at home that he's slowly stocking and I've been learning from him and reading.

I started a 5 gallon nano in my office at the beginning of March. I stocked it with live sand (about 1-1/2 inches deep) and 5 lbs. of live rock. All of the rock and sand came from my LFS along with my first batch of water. Since then, I have added (not all at once) - 3 very small hermit crabs, 1 button polyp, Anthelia (several stalks - freebies from a co-worker), and 1 True Perc.

The snail I transplanted from my husband's tank died several weeks ago, so I need to add one or two snails for the algae.

I do about a 20% water change once a week. Temp is around 80. The tank is a 5 gallon eclipse corner tank. I'm not running the biowheel and instead of the filter cartridge, I've put some live sand up there. The hood has been modified to accept 2 Corallife 10 watt 50/50 actinics. I have the lights on about 8 hours a day (with a timer).

Water chemistry is looking okay. I'd like to have my nitrates at 0

Nitrate: between 0-20 ppm

Nitrite: 0

KH: 300 ppm

pH: 8.4

So, what are suggestions for things to add next?? I'm open to just about anything (as long as it doesn't break the bank).

Thanks,

Liane

Houston, TX

SplitSequence

Fishwise, you're about set for a five-gallon. That true perc is probably loving it in there alone, but there isn't anything that is friendly enough to be in there with it. If your tank specs are fine, and stable, you could drop a GSP or some zoanthids, mushrooms, pumping xenia even.

If you're looking for an invert, a enjoy my serpent star, and cleaner shrimps.

ezcompany