Coral Vue Hydros

Get in the LOOP

Marine Depot

Wonder how that new light will perform.

I think it's pretty safe to say the light will perform great as there have been several iterations of Orbit LED fixtures to date.

What we're really looking forward to getting our salty hands on and trying out is their LOOP network to sync their lights, powerheads, and DC return pump together.

There's a bit more info on their website if you want to check it out: link

I'm also curious how the new light performs in comparison to the original orbit marine which I've been running for the past 15 months. Glad to see they are using the sleek form factor of the original Orbit Marine as opposed to the bulkier Orbit Marine Pro.

From reviewing the manuals:

Wattage sounds comparable, but number of LED's are halved and arranged in 2 rows instead of 3. Spectral channels now include Red and Green in addition to the previous Blue and White. (based on 36"-48" model)

Programming is different. According to the new manual, this new IC version of the controller has introduced an intermediate intensity stage for sunrise/sunset (30 minute duration during ramp) as well as the integration of weather events into the daily schedule. However, it appears that some other programmability may have been sacrificed, such as the adjustment of the ramp duration (previously adjustable from 0 to 30 minutes) and moonlight duration (previously adjustable in 1-hour increments up to 6). These may still be programmable, but I didn't see them described in the manual.

Are there other differences? Are the LED's more efficient at the same wattage consumption?

Also, any word on whether or not this can be integrated with APEX in any way? (I'm guessing that's not possible or they'd have prominently mentioned it)

• Like 1