Cultivated Reef

Diatoms I think?

Bcb577

My tank is a 14gallon biocube,and as of right now I have one hell of a diatonic bloom in my sand or possibly cyno?I'm doing a water change tonight,but as of now this bloom is only in the sand not on the rocks or glass so maybe I'm thinking the sand might be my source of phosphate.the tank is 5months old,running stock biocube filtration with chemipure elite added.I have one blue damsel,and one red firefish,trumpet coral,1mushroom.i1peppermint shrimp.I'm thinking since the sandbed seems to be the source and I've been battling this algae since about 2 months ago,it got better with lights out and water changes but now I'm thinking about replacing the sand bed.I'd show pics but having trouble with my device

My tank is a 14gallon biocube,and as of right now I have one hell of a diatonic bloom in my sand or possibly cyno?I'm doing a water change tonight,but as of now this bloom is only in the sand not on the rocks or glass so maybe I'm thinking the sand might be my source of phosphate.the tank is 5months old,running stock biocube filtration with chemipure elite added.I have one blue damsel,and one red firefish,trumpet coral,1mushroom.i1peppermint shrimp.I'm thinking since the sandbed seems to be the source and I've been battling this algae since about 2 months ago,it got better with lights out and water changes but now I'm thinking about replacing the sand bed.I'd show pics but having trouble with my device

Do you vacuum or stir your sand?

Did you add more sand in the last 3 months when you noticed the Diatoms? Frankly 5 months is still young and you may just be going through your cycle still!

Cyano is more slimy and stringy. It will lift off the sand in string formations. Is that what you have? By your explanation it sound like Diatoms (only on sand).