Pod Your Reef

Draogonets (Yes. First time topic title)

E.Y.

I'm brand new to reefing. I know that dragonets are really beautiful fish, but I'm just wondering what draws people into keeping a fish that has had difficulty surviving in nano environments, for so long?

I've read many of stories of death, and I haven't read many stories of long living fish. Most of the time it's a thread started, then a fish is purchased, and then the author drops off the map.

I'm not trying to be rude by any means. I'm just wondering why are people so passionate about keeping these fish that would have no difficulty surviving if you just provided a reef that where pods could self sustain.

Personality? Coloration? The challenge of training and thriving in a reef that isn't ideal?

The two most common topics of conversation I have seen on these boards are A. Hair Algae and B. Dragonets. Just an observation.

• Replies 84
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey, TY for that question. As u may be aware, I just posted our Thoughts about getting 1.

There have been quite a few very good replies.

I can't answer the question for others, but, for Shar and I, It definitely is about the coloration.

I also like it's personality that I have observed at our LFS.

I did a lot of researching regarding the mandarin. I am fully aware of the challenge, and tbh, I am not in it for the

challenge.

I have seen some members posting here that they have had success with them. That gives me hope, anyways.

IF we do get 1, I certainly will post updates. Good and hopefully not bad.