Coral Vue Hydros

New To the forums

aibocyrus

Hi all

My name is Cyrus and I am new to these threads. I originally got into this hobby back in March. I got a little ahead of myself and just completely failed. It did discourage me from the hobby for about a month or so, but after stopping into one of my LFS it reignited the spark. I decided that if I am going to do this again, I am going to start completely fresh and on a smaller scale... and be patient. That was my biggest mistake last time and I don't want to do that again.

Here's where I am at currently:

I picked up a Fluval Evo 12 yesterday. Got the tank set up. I have new dry rock on the way(10lbs), and I have a 20lb bag of live sand. I planned to get the sand in today as well as the water, and then go tomorrow or Wednesday to my local saltwater fish store and get a small piece of cured live rock to start seeding the tank for the Cycle.

So for now, other than testing the water every other day, is there anything I should be keeping in mind while its cycling for the next month? I'm under the impression not to do any water changes while it is cycling. I am waiting on one of my stores to get the protein skimmer in as they didn't have one in stock, but I have been told I really shouldn't start running one anyways until there is at least one fish in there or my clean up crew. Whichever comes first.

I was going to use a cycling product to help with the initial cycle. Is this ok instead of using raw shrimp or whatever else? lol

I think that's everything for now. If I am forgetting anything, definitely let me know. I joined here because I want to be successful this time around. I made enough mistakes last time by rushing things, and I am not going to do that again. I still feel terrible.

Also, end goal is 2 clowns, a small clean up crew, and either a shrimp goby pair, or a mandarin(I am prepared to continuously purchase copepods for the tank in order to make this a reality).