Coral Vue Hydros

Kenya Tree suggestions

shormovas

Hey guys i'm doing some research for future corals in my tank...I am new to the saltwater reef hobby and I read up on the Kenya Tree coral I really like the look of this coral. But I have come to an understanding that this coral is invasive and can easily be a pest. My question is...is there any other coral that has similar aesthetics to the Kenya tree that is not a so called pests? Obviously since i'm a beginner i'm only doing Soft Corals and LPS in my tank. Im running a Coralife Biocube stock lights.

RayWhisperer

Stick with green star polyps and zoanthids. GSP will grow rapidly, too. However, it's much easier to get rid of the excess. People will buy it, not Kenya tree. Xenia is another rapid grower that new people always want.

My advice with the GSP and Xenia. If you want it, that's fine. Keep them both isolated. GSP can be attached to the false wall in your tank and will eventually cover it. Removal from there is easy with a razor. Xenia will cover a rock in short order and once it crowds itself out, it will "self frag" as I call it. So, if you keep it, keep it on a rock you don't mind cutting.

My origional plan was to add pulsing xenia on an isolated rock....ive read stories of GSPs going crazy and growing from the back wall under the subtrate and back onto rock...I just dont want to be going crazy trying to get this stuff out of my tank

A friend of mine has a medusa coral - I think they are also called Christmas trees? I don't know a great deal about its growth rate but it sure looks tree like? BTW I am the newbiest of newbs but thought I'd put my 2 cents in just incase it's useful :)

MainelyReefer