Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Dosing bacteria-should you/do you

Clown79

I was reading a topic today online regarding dosing bacteria and I thought it was an interesting question.

1. Should you dose bacteria - new or established tanks

2. Do you dose bacteria and why if so?

squamptonbc

I do if starting a new tank dry with nothing, but once up and running and established I never do. I use Sea Chems product normally as its the most easily obtained, and it seems to work okay, but I am no scientist so could not tell you if it really does, but the last time I used it was on a fresh tank, and it was cycled in about 3-4 weeks, so seemed to at least speed it up a bit.

I never use it on a cycled established tank, I see no reason to.

ReefSafeSolutions

I just used it on my dry tank and like stated above, the only reason I did so was to jump start things. A healthy population of bacteria in the bottle will populate much faster than starting from almost nothing!

With an established system, the bacteria population is already there, so the bottled bacteria won't really help much. I guess it could be advantageous if you are adding a few fish at a time and want to boost the bacteria population to handle the increased bioload..? But even then, I'm not sure it would do much.

Yes, yes, yes. Live rock to start with, microbacter 7 or stability because I can, and more bacteria every week or month or few days so that I can make sure nothing else (cough, vibrio, cough) is outcompeting my beneficial bacteria.

natalia_la_loca

I dose Zeobak once a week after water changes, because I have it lying around. I have no idea whether it does anything good, but it doesn't seem to hurt anything.