ReefCleaners.org

20L lighting

BayStYat

I currently have a Orbit Marine Pro on my 20 gal long reef now. I am doing another 20L and want to see if there is a better option for lighting.

any suggestions?

thanks every one

Believe it or nothing i'm currently in the process of converting my FW 20L to saltwater so I guess I'll tag along for info

The Current Orbit Marine is great for LPS and some SPS if you put them towards the top of the tank. I actually have it on my 20L. If I were to step up to a stronger light in order to do more SPS then I would go with the NanoBox Duo.

What don't you like about the orbit marine pro?

I am new to to reef tanks and I am just wanting to see if i am on the right track with equipment.

I have a 15g 24x12x12- i've used a par38 with great results and just upgraded to 1 Ai Prime.

Fyi: 1 prime will cover 24" long with no shadowing.

I also have an Aquamaxx Nemolight on my 10g.

I like the Aquamaxx and Ai Prime. The Par38 bulbs are great but mine was a cheapy and not full spectrum. I'd recommend Coral Compulsion par38 because they are full spectrum and dimmable.

Nanobox is another highly recommended light.

I have a 15g 24x12x12- i've used a par38 with great results and just upgraded to 1 Ai Prime.

Fyi: 1 prime will cover 24" long with no shadowing.

I also have an Aquamaxx Nemolight on my 10g.

I like the Aquamaxx and Ai Prime. The Par38 bulbs are great but mine was a cheapy and not full spectrum. I'd recommend Coral Compulsion par38 because they are full spectrum and dimmable.

Nanobox is another highly recommended light.

so you just used a par 38 bulb? seems like a very inexpensive set up.

Yes. I got a "no name" par38 10,000k 50/50 and I had decent growth from everything but mushrooms.

The reason for my upgrade was because the par bulb wasn't full spectrum and the optics were only 60 degrees which left me with dark areas- my tank is standard 15g so 60 degrees doesn't spread far. If the tank had been square- no issue.