Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

IV fluid bags for dosing

aaron186

Probably a stupid question but...

I am a medicine resident. I just purchased my 2 part solution and realized that the solutions are sodium bicarbonate, calcium chloride, and mag sulfate. I have easy access to all of those at the hospital premixed in IV bags. I don't want to steal from the hospital so this is just theoretical. I think most of them are mixed in sugar water but some of them are in free water. Not sure what the concentration of 2 part is. Has anyone else in the medical field looked into this?

I think the big difference will be in the trace elements found in 2 part .

I'm unsure of the exact concentrations, but it involves more math that my glass of whiskey will allow me comprehend.

Good luck

I think the big difference will be in the trace elements found in 2 part .

I'm unsure of the exact concentrations, but it involves more math that my glass of whiskey will allow me comprehend.

Good luck

"Whiskey"

6581b50a2a13b6ebaa6a367c5063aa6e.jpg

They are free if you liberate them but that's not really my point. I was just wondering if anyone looked into it before.

HarryPotter

They are free if you liberate them but that's not really my point. I was just wondering if anyone looked into it before.

*steal ;)

There's just too high a risk/reward ratio (besides being that A****** that steals from a hospital).

Risk: Arrest, losing your job, Unknown additives, likely very low concentration makes solutions useless. They're for IVs not to significantly raise the [Elements].

Reward: Not much! Solution concentration is very low. You may ruin someone's osteoporosis treatment, good for you :lol:

If you want to purchase your own IV setup for dosing, then by all means do so. Keep in mind that it's just gravity-fed dosing, and comes with all the risks that you'll need to minimize.