Coral Vue Hydros

How do I know the T5 bulbs are done ...

ManGups

Is there a way to find out if the T5 bulbs is now at the end of life or it it is just an estimate of time?

Like you run them 7~8 hrs a day then replace in 9 months or if u run them 12 hrs a day then replace after 6 months?

I ran a t5 bulb on a DYI radion/t5 hybrid for 6 hrs a day starting October 2015 to Feb 2015 and then 12 hrs a day when I switched completely to an ATI unit in February. Technically the bulbs are completing 7 months first week of May. Do I replace them now?

I still have corals (LPS and SPS) growing and all look good .....

curious on this too. I just received a DIY V3/T5 Hybrid and I am new to T5s. With what kind of ballast and photo period should you replace?

Not enough information. What type of ballast?

Oct 2015 to Feb 2016 - 6 hrs a day on aquatic life non - dimmable ballast

Feb 2016 to present - 12 hrs on an ATI dimmable ballast - Ramp up and ramp down 1 hr each.

Nano sapiens

There are a number of factors that determine when flouresent bulbs need to be replaced (how often they are used, how hard they are driven, the temperature they operate at, etc.). Because of the differing factors, there is no set rule other than vague recommendations like 'after 9 months'.

When a bulb is 'done' it will loose quite a bit of it's initial intensity and will 'red shift' which typically contributes to algae growth. A typical practice is to measure the PAR (or LUX) of the bulb when new and then replace the bulb when intensity has dropped to around 70%. Time wise, this could be at 6 months, 8 months, etc. depending on the specific application.