SaltCritters.com

Final questions regarding first setup

Dwise

Hi everyone, (incoming wall of text)

I am new to the saltwater hobby and I am as interested as can be. All I have done in my spare time for the past month is research, research, research and finally I have come up with what my goals are for my first SW aquarium.

What type of fish do I want?

2 clowns

What type of coral do I want?

An anemone….. jk. To be more serious, I really like clove polyps and hammer corals. Any colourful hardy lps would do to be honest.

With my heart set on having two clowns, what size tank would be minimal but best out of a 10g or 20g high or long?

All I really want since I am new to the hobby is 2 clowns and trust me, this will not change. I am fascinated with clowns and to me they are the fish with the most character. I find them and the clown gobies to be entertaining fish.

With any of those tanks would this set up work?

55/75 fluval aquaclear HOB filter. (or no filter but a damn good skimmer?)

Ehiem Jager 50/100w heater depending on size tank

Jebao pp-4 wave maker (couldn’t justify spending $ on mp10 so any substitutes?) or 2 hydor nanos?

Trying to do without fudge

10-20lb of live rock. Really interested in dry rock from BRS. Specifically the reef saver rock but phosphate problems have given me some doubt. With that being said, what is some of the best live rock? (in ones experience)

Arag – Live sand

If I am to go without a HOB, what is the best vacumming method that is tried and true?

***Lights