SaltCritters.com

Sony a6000

Renstar

Anyone use this camera? I just picked one up a coupe days ago and I'm considering getting the SEL30M35 macro lens. I'm a newbie at photography so I imagine I'll be taking approximately 1 good photo for every 1000.

I took about 200 photos since getting it and tried editing a few in Lightroom. That's another learning curve too. I'm excited to eventually take some good reef shots.

rickztahone

I've been a Sony shooter for some time, so welcome to the Sony camp :).

While the SEL30M35 offers macro capabilities, you must keep in mind that a 35mm lens will force you to be pretty close to your subject in order to capture some breathtaking shots that are super super close to the subject. You can still take some really nice shots of subjects that are near, but for those that are somewhat far you will struggle with a little more.

With that said, that mm length is really convenient for day to day shooting. Personally, I use to walk around with a 35mm lens on my old a77 cropped sensor camera. Now with my a99, I walk around with my 50mm which is almost the same thing.

I would suggest getting something a little longer if you plan on shooting things in your aquarium. It may be very limiting in this setting.

I have a Nex6 and I have considered getting the Sony 90 2.8 lens but it is not cheap

Lastly, you may consider getting a cheaper macro lens and simply using an adapter. With macro photography, you want to shoot in manual auto focus anyways, so it isn't a big deal

I've been a Sony shooter for some time, so welcome to the Sony camp :).

While the SEL30M35 offers macro capabilities, you must keep in mind that a 35mm lens will force you to be pretty close to your subject in order to capture some breathtaking shots that are super super close to the subject. You can still take some really nice shots of subjects that are near, but for those that are somewhat far you will struggle with a little more.