Cultivated Reef

Corals in a classroom

Hypancistrus

I am a HS science teacher who teaches biology and aquatic science. This year I started a marine tank after many years of only doing freshwater. It's a 20G for now with possibility to upgrade to a larger size eventually if things go well. We put 15 lbs of live rock in the tank in August and let it cycle. We added snails in November when algae started to grow.

We put two fish into the tank this past month-- a clown and a Royal Gramma. All of our water chemistry readings are good-- 0 for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, 8.2 for pH and 1.025 for salinity. There are about 5 snails in there and a skunk cleaner shrimp.

Now my students are wondering if we could do corals, so we were doing some research on coral varieties for low light situations. It seems like zoanthids are one of the most often recommended for low light, but I also read that they can make toxins that can be dangerous to people. How accurate is this? Should I avoid zoanthids? My students don't typically stick their hands in the tank, but it is a busy classroom and you never know what can happen. Is this something I should be concerned about? Would other species of coral be a better choice? Right now I only have a regular marine strip light on it, but I am not averse to purchasing a T5 light or something like it. Our tank doesn't have a skimmer, so I wouldn't want this to be a reef tank, but if there were some easy corals we could include I think my students would enjoy that.

Wonderful post!

Yes your concerns are accurate, they simply need to learn and practice basic aseptic technique and this is a great way to learn. Lab chemicals will require similar care, and are more likely to cause harm. The protopalythoid groups are your major concerns, avoid them.

not so much colonial typical colorful zoanthids, the palythoids.