Innovative Marine Aquariums

65 litre/14 gallon, 30cm x 60cm x 35cm beginner.

Haberdashery

I found a 65 litre tank on gumtree for £25 so I felt compelled to buy it, aha.

I already have a 55litre nano reef that's been set up for just over a year but I still consider myself a complete novice and am looking for advice and hints and tips etc for setting this wee tank up.

post-87135-0-92318200-1454175371_thumb.jpgpost-87135-0-09018400-1454175371_thumb.jpgpost-87135-0-03968000-1454175370_thumb.jpg

It's a bit grubby still and has a stick on thermometer on the outside. (oh how i loathe stick on thermometers) but i'm planning to clean it up, start cycling it soon and move my clownfish and firefish into it afterwards maybe add another clownfish or a shrimp and goby pair or clown goby if i feel theres enough space and turn their current home into a seahorse tank.

I've worked it out as needing about 20lbs of live sand for about 1 and 3/4 inch sandbed and 12kg of live rock. Which sounds alright to me

For lighting i'm going to get the Beamswork MHX24 3w LED Marine w LED Marine

http://www.ukmarinelighting.co.uk/beamswork-mhx24-3w-led-marine-aquarium-light-115-p.asp

and for filter I was going to get the Fluval U3 Internal Filter, 150 L (40 US Gal)

https://fishkeeper.co.uk/product/fluval-u3-underwater-filter-150-l-40-us-gal

and use it with phosphate remover and filterpads and filterwool

I wasn't going to get a skimmer as ive heard that for nano aquariums its better to just do water changes often

I am also getting a few powerheads and obviously a heater etc

pretty excited about this tbh if anyone has any advice or thinks i should do something differently please let me know!

I found a 65 litre tank on gumtree for £25 so I felt compelled to buy it, aha. I already have a 55litre nano reef that's been set up for just over a year but I still consider myself a complete novice...