inTank Media Baskets

3D Printed DIY LED Lighting with Dual Ramp Controller

ReeferDan246

Hello all,

First time poster :)

Anyway, thought I would share my work on my DIY LED lighting system for my 5 gallon fluval chi (tank only). I'm a mechanical engineer with access to 3D printers, so I designed my own housing for the lights and then printed it out.

I designed this as a 36W system that can independlty control blue and white LEDs. I made the wattage ridiculously high so I could run the LEDs dimmer, and therefore cooler for a nice long life. I also have a PC cooling fan.

Stuff needed:

(6) 3W 10K LED diodes $7

(6) 3W 455 nm LED diodes $7

26 gage wire $4

laptop cooling fan $5

3D Printer with PLA (Mine were printed on a Makerbot, Taz, and Printerbot)

Generic 12V Power Supply (Mine was for a laptop, Make sure it is rated for enough watts) $8

(8) 1.5 ohm resistors (high wattage) $5

Solder and soldering iron

Dual Ramp LED Controller $35

(2) female 2.1mm x 5mm DC plugs (To plug LEDs in to Dual Ramp) $5

Shrink sleeving or electrical tape ($5)

Wire strippers

Depending on what you already have available, you could probably do this for about $70, which isn't half bad for a fully controlled system.

First I designed the LED circuits. Because I used a constant voltage power supply, I needed a current limiting resistor. Without these resistors, the LEDs would experience a massive current and quickly burn out. To do this, google "LED array resistor calculator" and then you don't have to do any math. My resistor was 3 ohms, but I had to put (2) 1.5 ohm resistors together because I couldn't find any 3 ohm resistors rated above 5W.

Next I designed the housings and printed them out. I glued the LEDs onto the housing and wired them up by soldering.