Pod Your Reef

Bryant's new lagoon

bryantkalagian

bryantkalagian

"Current" FTS from 1/21/16:

20160123_154002-1_zpshkddhorl.jpg

20160124_190610_zpswlrmbasw.jpg

20160124_190559-1_zpsuqlyhyar.jpg

Hey everyone. I jumped on the bandwagon and picked up an IM 25 gallon lagoon. I wanted a fresh start since I've battled some red slime and bubble algea recently, so I'm starting fresh with all new everything and dry rock. I am however planning on transferring over my livestock after a dip.

I'm starting off with about 22 lbs of BRS reef saver and 20 lbs of Oceans Direct sand. Unknown skimmer and power head at this time and a cheap heater that I'll controll with my Reef Keeper as well as my Tunze A TO coming from my old tank.
I wanted to build my own stand to fit my likes as well as I enjoy attempting to be handy in the garage. This is my first attempt at a stand and I have to say it came out pretty well

Message_1447548658376-1_zps04kwxxl1.jpg

I wanted be be able to keep at least a 5 gallon bucket of top off water underneath. After getting the tank upstairs and filled, I finished the stand with a wainscoting material. The right side is fixed and the front and left come off as one big piece held on by super Velcro.

20151119_150327_HDR-1_zpsbc9ltuhq.jpg

This is the rock scape I settled on for now. I'm planning on shifting it around a little to fit one rock that's coated in GSP that's coming from the old tank.

1448482148544-265056142_zps2sevdfrh.jpg

Here's the stand all put together. I still need to roll a coat of paint on the outside but for now it's good with me.
20151125_120446-1_zpsb4twovfm.jpg

Now the waiting game starts.

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply
bryantkalagian

Congrats... Nice. What lighting will you be using?

I'll be using the LED I have over my tank now. Its an off brand 55 bulb fixture but everything I've had under it so far has been doing great. Maybe an upgrade one day haha
bryantkalagian