Cultivated Reef

AquaScaping Help

SithRico

Hey All,

I'm new to the hobby very tender toed. I got 30# of Reef Cleaner rock and was wondering after getting it now if I got enough. I saw on the site it said a good rule is 1.5 lbs for every gallon, but to get what you believe you want for your build and pleasing to the eye.

My tank is the JBJ 45rl. I'm going to be putting in the seachem pond matrix like I saw cyberaquarist do on youtube. Looking at my rock structure (not in tank yet or glued down) wondering if I should get more. I wanted the minimal look in the tank not crowded with rock. Just enough to help fish hide and have some SPS corals. I really like my scape I've got setup now just unsure if I have enough rock.

I plan on running this equipment in the tank.

Current Marine LED light - already purchased

A RW8 wavemaker

Neo Therm 150w heater

Pumps include with tank for return flow.

A skimmer - still in the market

I have a RO/DI unit built into the house already.

Instant Ocean Reef Salt

Looking to have just a couple of Clown Fish, Red Firefish, Watchman Gobbie or some sort of other. Plus the clean up crew. Maybe a Blue Tang (that's what the wife really wants).

Thanks for your help.

Maybe a Blue Tang (that's what the wife really wants).

Thanks for your help.

45 Gallons

This would be very ill-advised. Even if you were able to find a very young blue hippo, it would out grow the tank quickly. And I am sure if she is anything like my wife, she will get quite attached and not want you to rehome it after if gets stressed from being too big for your tank. Better to just not deal with that situation.

As for your rock structure, I think you have plenty. If you are happy with how it looks, then let it ride. The 1.5lb/gallon rule is somewhat outdated.