Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

reefin on the edge

mpad

Hello!

Sooo, after a lot of lurking and hanging around in other threads, I thought it is time to finally start my own tank thread and properly introduce myself.

Well, I am a mid thirty guy living in Munich Germany. I did about ten years of freshwater in my youth, with a focus on african chichlids.

Maybe three years ago I stumbled across a fluval edge in our hardware store and I was instantly hooked by the design. The edge got me thinking about owning a tank again, and I went to the internet...

I quickly learned about the whole nano and especially saltwater tanks and thought - why not!

Lets do a saltwater tank!

After a bit more resarch I found out about all the disadvantages of the edge and that heavy modifications would be necessary, beginning with the lights, filter, etc.

I am a tech and DIY guy, but at the time it was too much and I forgot about the idea.

So about half a year ago I again accidentially landed on Neills Marine Pac 3 Video on youtube, his blog, and finally here.

The Marine Pac as "plug and play ready" mod, and all the cool new stuff that had developed in the scene (like the bluefish controller), finally convinced me to give the whole thing a try.

I am a plannig guy, so i spent a lot of hours reading through this forum (which is the best! - German forums suck) and two books I bought.

I decided to stick to idea of the getting the fluval edge, because it was the spark that got this whole idea going.

I know it is a tank with lots of restrictions and maybe not the easiest to make a successfull start into the reefing world (a lot of fluval edge threads around here get deserted... :unsure: ).

But I like a good challenge :-)

I ordered the Marine Pac 3 from Neill (who did an awesome job and always helps out with noob questions) and with time i got several other things I "might" need.

So I got a lot of eqipment lying around here :)

I am still missing the tank!