Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

?Overstocked Tank at University?

Elizabeth94

My university has a very nice marine biology lab with multiple tanks, but one in particular seems to be overstocked imo anyway.. Since I am a Criminal Justice student, the science professors ignore practically everything I say, and the students are the ones doing maintenance. So, I come here today to see if I am in the wrong.

Tank is a 50gal (36x19x20)

Fish stocking:

2x Flame Angel Fish

1x Full grown yellow tang

3x yellow tail damsels

1x azure damsel

4x blue green chromis

I don't see any snails or clean up crew no matter how long I look at the tank.

Filtration (I am not allowed to open the stand and see the sump set up)

I assume there is only a heater and skimmer down there though, nothing fancy.

This post is not going to be shown to anyone, I just want to see the general views on this. It kind of disappointed me to see how many fish they have added in the past month (over 5). All the other tanks are great, and we breed clownfish and other species here. Not including that we are on the water and have our own hatchery. Am I nuts for thinking this? Not a big deal, but the way the science professors are make me mad.

Maybe Ill grab a pic when I have my next forensics lab in that department.

You should report this to the Tang Police :D

Depending on how well it's maintained I don't think it's excessively overstocked, especially if the damsels and chromis are small. Maybe they intend to rehome some of them when they are larger?

That sounds overstocked to me, not just on the tang but the angel pair as well. My coral beauty pair could get pretty vicious to each other at times and that was in an 8' tank (My male was a bully, not all fish are equal but that seems a little on the small side for a pair to me).