Cultivated Reef

Is this too much stone?

rekt

Hey guys I'm new the the saltwater world but I've been doing planted tanks for many years. I just recently purchased a Fluval m40 and I was wondering if 20lbs is too much stone for such a small tank? For those that arnt familiar with the m40. It's a 14 gallon tank but after I put in the sand and aprox 20lbs of stone it only holds 10 gallons of water. I'm also concerned with the top Rock causing lighting issues in the back side of the tank. All comments and advice is appreciated.

post-89644-0-49265800-1446970217_thumb.jpg

post-89644-0-92623900-1446970440_thumb.jpg

Hi. Welcome to NR.

Through experience I have found that it works out better to leave a few inches or more between the rock and the glass on all sides. This gives you room to clean the glass or get your hands in there and also leaves room for the corals to grow.

I also see what you mean about that top rock making lots of shade. Although it looks nice, I vote for a redo. :P

Thanks for the reply. Deep down I know a redo would be best but I was hoping some of you experts would tell me otherwise. I like the way it looks right now but I don't know it it will work with zoas and anemones. Seem like not enough light. I've tried adjusting it but the back side is still dark. Btw I'm using a Aqua illumination fixture. Would raising the fixture higher help?

righttirefire

Hi. Welcome to NR.

Through experience I have found that it works out better to leave a few inches or more between the rock and the glass on all sides. This gives you room to clean the glass or get your hands in there and also leaves room for the corals to grow.

I also see what you mean about that top rock making lots of shade. Although it looks nice, I vote for a redo. :P