Cultivated Reef

Red Spot Glass Cardinals

Drew Shark

Hello all, this is my first post. I have been reading Nano-Reef for years, and I just never got around to creating an account. I have been keeping saltwater for about six years now, so I have a bit of experience.

On to my question: I am currently setting up a 40B peninsula mixed reef. There is no water in it yet. I would like to keep a school of these cardinals in the tank. I have a few questions about them:

1. I like to quarantine all new fish. What has been your experience with them in quarantine? Should I risk it and skip quarantine as they seem to be very sensitive?

2. I plan to get them from Divers Den. Has anybody ordered Red Spot Glass cardinals from DD? What was your experience?

3. What was the first food you had them eating? What is the biggest and smallest thing you have seen them consume?

Thanks in advance.

I thought about it but the reading I found led me to believe they have a very low survival rate. I passed.

That's what I was reading too. Then I saw a thread on RC where people were having very high success rates with the Live Aquaria specimens. LA was saying it had to do with transport. I have not seen any posts from people that bought them from Divers Den or LA so I wanted to see if anybody had some. They seem to sell very fast on DD, they are usually sold within the day they are listed.