Cultivated Reef

Switching Salt Mixes

oysterk

Hi everybody,

This is my first ever post on nano-reef! So recently I was told by someone that Instant Ocean salt mix, which i've been using for 5 years, is not enough to sustain my 29 gallon mixed LPS SPS tank. I've been able to keep easy montis, but acros always die on me. My LPS are thriving however. So I'm thinking of switching to IO Reef Crystals or maybe Red Sea Coral Pro. Do you think this is necessary? Also, how should I change the salt in a way that will slowly acclimate my corals/fish? mix in a little with my IO salt, and do 5 gallon water changes?

Before switching salts, you need to test your water. What is your Ca, Alk, and Mg for your freshly mixed water? What is your Ca, Alk, and Mg for your tank? Frankly, you shouldn't be keeping LPS/SPS corals without having those test kits. You may not use them as often later on but at the beginning, you definitely need to know where your tank is at. If you don't have those test kits, I would recommend getting the Red Sea Foundations kit. It's easy to use and cheaper than buying the individual Salifert kits.

I use regular IO and keep SPS (monti caps, acros, digis, birdsnest, and a larger pavona) and LPS just fine but I do dose the new water on top of the regular salt mix. When I mix my new batch of salt for water changes, I do 5.5 cups worth of IO mix in 10 gallons of water. That gets me to the right salinity for me. The issue is then the Ca and Mg. My alk mixes in at 9.7 and I'm fine with that so I don't dose anything for that. The Ca mixes in at 370 and the Mg mixes in at 1260. Both of those are too low IMO. I add BRS calcium chloride and epsom salts in order to raise my Ca and Mg respectively. After dosing the new water change water, I'm getting 440 Ca and 1380 Mg which is where I like my parameters to be.