Pod Your Reef

My Noob questions topic

Difrano

Hi all, My name is Armando, I am new to saltwater but not new to aquariums.

This forum have been very informative and the community is awesome, thank you.

I started my 29 Biocube today and I'm filled with questions, and pretty sure new ones will pop every day. so I started this topic to consolidate all the questing in only one place, as new questions pop i will place them here. I will do my best to search and find answers myself, but sometimes I cant find the answers or there are opposite point of views of the same topic so ill bring them here.

Thanks,

Armando

Ok First batch of questions:

Tank Day 1:

• My tank is clearing out after the initial dust storm, i'm noticing that a fine layer of dust have settled on top of the Rock, Can i use the powerhead to clean them up?
  • My house is at 76 F all year round, i had the buckets of water from the LFS sitting all day inside the house but the water in the tank is at 80F after a few hours of the tank setup, i had not turned the lights on so far. Do the circulation pump transfer heat to the water in the Biocube?
  • I want to try with a refuge with macro and some live rock on the middle chamber. Do i have to wait for the cycle to finish or can i set it up right now?
  • This might be a stupid one, do the tank generate corrosion on other things around it? I have it in a corner on the living room.

Thanks

Armando

1 - yes

2 - yes any electrical equipment is going to generate some heat while running. My house is 74 year round and my heater never kicks on and my tank stays pretty consistent at 79-80.

3 - fuge that small won't really do anything but be a trap for waste.

4 - I think it might if you where running without a hood and had a lot of surface agitation. But it would have to be really close to something else though.

fishfreak0114

1. Yes, a turkey baster works well too.