SaltCritters.com

How to prevent fishes from being kill by pump

TinaMP

Just had a new little fellaw (yellow clown goby) this evening and just found him dead on top of my Koralia Nano pump... clearly damaged by the propellers. Any advice how to prevent it? Never have that problem with my clown couple. Im new to saltwater tank but didn't find anything yet on the matter.

Just had a new little fellaw (yellow clown goby) this evening and just found him dead on top of my Koralia Nano pump... clearly damaged by the propellers. Any advice how to prevent it? Never have that problem with my clown couple. Im new to saltwater tank but didn't find anything yet on the matter.

Sorry about your loss, but the Goby probably died before being sucked onto the pump if it was new. Perhaps it didn't like the acclimation, or it was sick before you bought it.

A healthy fish would never be sucked onto a pump

Maybe, but carefully chosen one and was eating too. Was quite active for the few hours he was in the tank. Was small tho... less than a inch. Acclimation went well from what I see and dont know where it went wrong. Will return to the store tomorrow and see...

You can cut a piece out of the plastic mesh lemon or orange bags at the grocery store, wrap it around and secure it with a rubber band.

Hard to know if it was bite marks since his side seemed shredded... and since he was lying on the top/side of the pump. Just where the small propeller is... right on the cover not inside tho.

When I watched if the fish had aggressive action... both clowns didn't botter him

Was the fish well acclimated that you put in today? Maybe it was shocked, maybe internally sick from the lfs and wouldn't have known. Sometimes you never know.

Snow_Phoenix