Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Effect of high phosphates on LPS and softies

Ryan_E

My tank is only a few months old. I am experiencing a small diatom bloom. Currently I have three small frags in my tank. Two zoa frags, and a candy cane. My current parameters are:

ammonia and nitrate:0

Nitrate: 5ppm

PH: 8

Calcium: 480

Alk: 8.5 dkh

One of my zoa frags has lost a TON of color and is browning, but growing like a weed. My candycane has slowly been dying. More skeleton starts to show every few days...

I am running a nano box duo on my tank at 60% blue 40% white at peak hours, and I have a gyre xf130 running at 20% pulse mode. Tank is a 45 gallon cube.

I am trying to figure out what the problem is.... I would really like to save the candycane.

Could it be high phosphates? Lighting issue? Flow issue? I am new to this and am feeling lost!

charnelhouse

Could be any or all of those, but the lighting and flow as stated don't seem abnormal.

Do you have a phosphate test? If not that should be your next purchase methinks.

Could be any or all of those, but the lighting and flow as stated don't seem abnormal.

Do you have a phosphate test? If not that should be your next purchase methinks.

What are you using for water?

I'm using LFS water. That is going to change in the next month or so. I've had to adjust their water a couple of times now. I think they use instant ocean.

As for the lighting, I know it sounds weird but it might be too strong? My one frag of Zoas has gone a lighter brown color, and now I'm noticing my play frag is staring to get pretty white/ not as vibrant as it was two weeks ago??? No phosphate test yet.

charnelhouse

The light is a possibility. I've seen people running the same and similar lights at more like 40/20 for an acclimation period. But If you are using LFS pre-mixed saltwater (and how are you "adjusting" it?) I'd be a lot more suspicious of that than the light.