ReefCleaners.org

How do you mix up your salt?

drgibby

So im new to the world of reefing and want to know how everyone on here mixes there salt. Do you heat it up? Store it for long periods of time. What brands of salt have you played with and found work better. Any secretes tips all are welcome

A good food grade container, a small powerhead and a measuring cup that all I use for mixing saltwater. I have store saltwater for up to one month. The amount time you can store saltwater mainly depends on how tight the seal is on the container so water does not evaporate and get saltwater specific gravity swing. I have used Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt and have gotten good results, but for my next build I will be using a different brand.

outerorbiter

I think letting the water warm to room temp and adding the salt slowly is the best way. Also circulating with a small pump, no need to have it blasting away with a big pump. Stored for maybe a week and used IO RC and Salinity salts.Testing with a refractometer instead of a swing arm hydrometer

12_egg_Omelette

I mix mine with water, ha! I use a 5 gallon bucket throw in a Jaebo add one heap at a time check back every 5 minutes until I get the PPT I want (35). I don't worry about temperature because PPT isn't effected by temperate like SG is. I then store it until I'm ready to use and haven't had any problems that way. I use aqua vitro salt and like it, if I was to change and if I had to change I would use HW-Marinemix.

Bucket of H2O, add salt, toss in power head and heater then let it do it's thing overnight, next morning tada it's saltwater for the reef tank.....Nothing more to it than that. I've used Red Sea Coral Pro for the past year and like the salt a lot, I've used Reef Crystals and it's ok but I get best polyp extension from the RSCP salt.

5gal bucket with 1/4g marks on it(not accurate whatsoever)

Old maxi jet power head

Walmart 50w heater

Floating thermometer

Digital postal scale