SaltCritters.com

5 Gallon Fluval Chi (converted to saltwater tank) HELP

Lazar

Hi. I transformed a 5 gallon chi to saltwater reef tank. I'm new to the hobby but enjoy it a lot. I thought going small would be easier to care for for a begginer and found out the smaller the harder :/

Anyways I got live sand, live rock, and cycled water from a buddy all from the same tank about 2 weeks ago. I put 2 dragon eyes in the tank again from the same tank I got everything els from and bough a clown, hermit crab, and a peppermint shrimp and they all seem to be happy ?

The filter and light are one piece for the chi and I don't like the lighting at all and to change it I need to change the whole thing. also I was wondering if I can add some more corals. Can anybody give me some addvice on what I can do?

post-88787-0-31249300-1438511684_thumb.jpg

:welcome:

Best advice is to take some time and do some research. There is a ton of info out there about these tanks and what people do to make them work with salt. Don't add anything else to that tank right now (which means for months, not days) until you get a grasp of what you are trying to do. IMO the tank is too small for a clown. Again, don't add anything else right now.

Oh, there is no such thing as cycled water. The water does not have much to do with the bacteria that do their thing in our tanks--they live mostly on things, and not in the water column. Using old tank water has no value when starting a new tank IMO. Tell your buddy you learned something!